Website feedback

The Cherokee Scout, your local newspaper since 1889, has been a fixture in downtown Murphy, North Carolina, for generations. The Scout moved into its current facility at Central and Sycamore in 2008.

Mailing address: P.O. Box 190, Murphy, NC 28906

Street address: 89 Sycamore St., Murphy, NC 28906

The Scout's office is open from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Your hometown newspaper prints every Tuesday and is delivered to homes on Wednesday.

General information:

Phone number: 828-837-5122
Fax number: 828-837-5832
News Email: news@cherokeescout.com
Display advertising Email: advertising@cherokeescout.com
Classified advertising Email: classifieds@cherokeescout.com
Circulation Email: circulation@cherokeescout.com

Administration:
David Brown has been publisher of the Cherokee Scout and the Murphy Region of Community Newspapers Inc. since March 2003. He oversees all operations of the local newspaper as well as supervising the Clay County Progress in Hayesville, The Graham Star in Robbinsville, The News Observer in Blue Ridge, Ga., and the Times-Courier in Ellijay, Ga. He also heads the Scout's editorial board. Email: dbrown@cherokeescout.com

News:
Charlene Kephart has been community editor of the Scout since January 2007. She has worked at the local newspaper since 1977 in a variety of roles, including staff writer, sports editor and copy editor. Email: news@cherokeescout.com
 

Samantha Sinclair has been a staff writer for the Scout since June 2015. Email: scoutingaround@cherokeescout.com
 

Penny Ray has been a staff writer for the Scout since March 2019.  Email: pennyray@cherokeescout.com
 

Noah Schatzer has been a sports writer with the Scout since August 2019.  Email: sports@cherokeescout.com
 


Columnists:
Wally Avett. Email: wallyavett@gmail.com
Kandy Barnard Email: kandybarnard@gmail.com
Tom Bennett: Email: farbluemtn07@gmail.com
Hugh Williamson. Email: williamsonh@uwstout.edu


Advertising:
Debbie Dills has been an advertising sales associate for the Scout since May 2019. Email: ddills@cherokeescout.com

Dave Stevens has been an advertising sales associate for the Scout since June 2012. Email: dstevens@cherokeescout.com

Art & Design:
Christy Guthrie became composition manager of the Scout in June 2011 after working a variety of positions at the local newspapers since 1997. Email: cguthrie@cherokeescout.com

Tina Sheldon has been a graphic artist with the Scout since February 2017. Email: advertising@cherokeescout.com

Newspapers in Education:
Tina Sheldon has been NIE coordinator of the Scout since February 2017. Email: nie@cherokeescout.com

Bookkeeping & Circulation:
Christy Guthrie has been circulation manager of the Scout since August 2019. Email: circulation@cherokeescout.com

Burt Dow has worked with the Scout since  2016 in circulation and delivery.

Front Office:
Donna Getch has been front office manager of the Scout since September 2013 after coming to work at the local newspaper in August 2004. Email: classifieds@cherokeescout.com


THE CHEROKEE SCOUT
Mailing Address:
89 Sycamore St. Murphy, NC 28906
Phone: 828-837-5122
Fax: 828-837-5832
© 2020 Cherokee Scout, Murphy, North Carolina