Contact Us

The Cherokee Scout, your local newspaper since 1889, has been a fixture in downtown Murphy, North Carolina, for generations. The Scout moved into its current facility in 2008.

Mailing address: P.O. Box 190, Murphy, NC 28906
Street address: 89 Sycamore St., Murphy, NC 28906

The Scout's office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Your hometown newspaper prints every Tuesday and is delivered to homes on Wednesday.

General information:

Phone number: 828-837-5122
Fax number: 828-837-5832
News Email: news@cherokeescout.com
Display advertising Email: advertising@cherokeescout.com
Classified advertising Email: classifieds@cherokeescout.com
Circulation Email: circulation@cherokeescout.com

Administration:

David Brown has been publisher of the Cherokee Scout and the Murphy Region of Community Newspapers Inc. since March 2003. He oversees all operations of the local newspaper as well as supervising the Andrews Journal, the Clay County Progress in Hayesville, The Graham Star in Robbinsville, The News Observer in Blue Ridge, Ga., and the Times-Courier in Ellijay, Ga. He also heads the Scout's editorial board. Email: dbrown@cherokeescout.com

News:

Matthew Osborne has been editor of the Scout since June 2014 after first joining CNI as a sports writer in 2000, then serving as publisher/editor of The Graham Star from 2003-05. He oversees all aspects of news coverage. Email: editor@cherokeescout.com

Charlene Kephart has been community editor of the Scout since January 2007. She has worked at the local newspaper since 1977 in a variety of roles, including staff writer, sports editor and copy editor. Email: news@cherokeescout.com

Dwight Otwell has been a staff writer for the Scout since December 2007. His primary coverage areas are education and human interest stories. Email: dotwell@cherokeescout.com

Tom Bennett has been The Far Blue Mountains columnist for the Scout since February 2008. Email: farblumtn07@gmail.com

Wally Avett has been Hillbilly Ranger columnist for the Scout since 2013. Email: wallyavett@gmail.com

Samantha Sinclair has been Scouting Around columnist for the Scout since June 2015. Email: scoutingaround@cherokeescout.com

Kelsey Richardson has been a staff writer for the Scout since May 2016. Her primary coverage areas are Andrews and lifestyle stories. Email: krichardson@myandrewsjournal.com

Kevin Hensley has been a staff writer with the Scout since August 2016. His primary coverage areas include all area sports and recreation. Email: khensley@cherokeescout.com

Ben Katz has been a staff photographer with the Scout since May 2016. Email: bkatz@cherokeescout.com

Advertising:

Donna Cook has been advertising sales manager of the Scout since February 1982 after coming to work at the local newspaper in August 1976. Email: dcook@cherokeescout.com

Dave Stevens has been an advertising sales associate for the Scout since June 2012. Email: dstevens@cherokeescout.com

Art & Design:

Christy Guthrie became composition manager of the Scout in June 2011 after working a variety of positions at the local newspapers since 1997. Email: cguthrie@cherokeescout.com

Ann Koles has been a graphic artist with the Scout since April 2014. Email: advertising@cherokeescout.com

Newspapers in Education:

Ann Koles has been NIE coordinator of the Scout since August 2014. Email: nie@cherokeescout.com

Bookkeeping & Circulation:

Ann Oliver has worked with the Scout since October 1989 as a bookkeeper, circulation manager and front office assistant. Email: circulation@cherokeescout.com

Robert Duncan has worked with the Scout since October 2012. He oversees delivery and maintenance.

Front Office:

Donna Getch has been front office manager of the Scout since September 2013 after coming to work at the local newspaper in August 2004. Email: classifieds@cherokeescout.com

Debbie Dills has been a front office assistant at the Scout since November 2013. Email: ddills@cherokeescout.com