• Bram Farbstein brings Rick Ramsey the good news about his election night win for Murphy mayor. Photo by BEN KATZ

Ramsey, town council ready to get going

   Murphy – Rick Ramsey won a convincing victory to become the next mayor of Murphy on Nov. 7.
   Ramsey got 62 percent (194 votes) to 37 percent for Democratic challenger Curtis Brown (116).
   “I thank the people for placing their trust in me,” Ramsey said after the election. “I am excited and humbled for the opportunity to serve Murphy. Congratulations to the newly elected city council, who I look forward to working with.
   “I will always have an open door for citizens and businesses to share their concerns and ideas with me.”
   Ramsey thanked outgoing Mayor Bill Hughes for his service to the town over the last 20 years.
   Newcomer Noland Smith got the most votes in the city council race with 239.
   “I am looking forward to doing work on the water and sewer infrastructure,” Smith said. “It’s 100 years old, and it’s not sexy to talk about, but it’s what you need to run a town.”
   The city council will have three members returning, including Barry McClure (229 votes), Karen Watson (224) and Frank Dickey (178).
   Barbara Hughes, wife of the longtime mayor, got 194 votes to gain her first political office. Gail Walker Stansell earned 191 votes and also was elected for the first time.
   “I’m just really excited about the teamwork we are going to have to move Andrews forward,” Ms. Hughes said. “The sky is the limit for us.”
   “There is a lot for me to learn, I know that,” Stansell said. “I would like to see us work on bringing more tourists to town and working on our signage at the highway and the RiverWalk. I am excited to work with the newly elected mayor and council, and I think this is a huge opportunity for the town to grow and move forward.”
   Incumbent Sandy Sumpter (165 votes) and newcomer Jodi Alverson (148) failed to gain election.
   In Andrews, Mayor-Elect James Reid was overwhelmingly chosen with 75 percent of the vote over incumbent Mayor Nancy Curtis.
   Andrews voters also swept a new board into office, with former alderman Steve Jordan leading a new group of board members including Scott Stalcup, Richelle Phillips and Mike Sheidy.