August 21, 2014
Contact Us

The Cherokee Scout, your local newspaper since 1889, has been a fixture in downtown Murphy, North Carolina, for generations. The Scout, which also operates the only newspaper press plant in Cherokee County, moved into its facility in 2008.

Mailing address: P.O. Box 190, Murphy, NC 28906
Street address: 89 Sycamore St., Murphy, NC 28906

The Scout's office is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding some holidays. Your hometown newspaper prints every Tuesday and is delivered to homes on Wednesday.

General information:

Phone number: 828-837-5122
Fax number: 828-837-5832
News Email: news@cherokeescout.com
Display advertising Email: advertising@cherokeescout.com
Classified advertising Email: classifieds@cherokeescout.com
Circulation Email: circulation@cherokeescout.com

Administration:

David Brown has been publisher of the Cherokee Scout and the Murphy Region of Community Newspapers Inc. since March 2003. He oversees all operations of the local newspaper and Scout Press plant as well as supervisingThe Andrews Journal, the Clay County Progress in Hayesville, The Graham Star in Robbinsville and The News Observer in Blue Ridge, Ga. He also heads the Scout's editorial board. Email: dbrown@cherokeescout.com

Glenn Harbison has been associate publisher of the Scout since 1996 after first joining CNI in 1978. He shares responsibility for overseeing all operations of the Murphy Region and press plant, while also serving as publisher of The News Observer in Blue Ridge, Ga. Email: glenn@thenewsobserver.com.

News:

Joseph Martin has been associate editor of the Scout since July 2013. Email:jmartin@cherokeescout.com

Charlene Kephart has been community editor of the Scout since January 2007. She has worked at the local newspaper since 1977 in a variety of roles, including staff writer, sports editor and copy editor. Email:news@cherokeescout.com

Jeffrey Lee has been a staff/sports writer since September 2013. Email:jlee@cherokeescout.com

Dwight Otwell has been a staff writer for the Scout since December 2007. His primary coverage areas include public safety and county government. Email:dotwell@cherokeescout.com

Scott Wallace has been photo editor for the Scout since January 2013 after joining the Scout as staff photographer for the Scout since February 2006. Email: swallace@cherokeescout.com

John Fowler has been sports photographer for the Scout since 1998.

Jerry Chautin has been business columnist for the Scout since 2004. Email:JKChautin@aol.com

Tom Bennett has been environmental columnist for the Scout since February 2008. Email: farblumtn07@gmail.com

Scott Stambaugh has been a staff writer/entertainment writer for the Scoutsince 2008. Email: sstambaugh@cherokeescout.com

Advertising:

Donna Cook has been advertising sales manager of the Scout since February 1982 after coming to work at the local newspaper in August 1976. Email:dcook@cherokeescout.com

Dave Stevens. Email: dstevens@cherokeescout.com

Art & Design:

Christy Guthrie, became composition manager of the Scout in June 2011 after working a variety of positions at the local newspapers since 1997. Email:cguthrie@cherokeescout.com

Ann Koles, graphic artist. Email: advertising@cherokeescout.com

Newspaper In Education:

For details Email: nie@cherokeescout.com

Bookkeeping:

Ann Oliver, regional bookkeeper and circulation manager. Email:circulation@cherokeescout.com

Front Office:

Donna Getch has been front office manager of the Scout since September 2013 after coming to work at the local newspaper in August 2004. Email:classifieds@cherokeescout.com

Debbie Dills, front office assistant.

Production:

Jimmy Robinson has been foreman of the Scout Press since March 1980 after coming to work at the local newspaper in March 1979.

David Earwood, press worker

Danny Hughes, press worker/delivery

Inserting:

Donna Brown has been inserting manager of the Scout since September 2007 after coming to work at the local newspaper in November 2004, then being promoted to assistant inserting manager in November 2006.

Robert Duncan, inserter

Shirlene Golden, inserter

Ruth Hamby, inserter

William Hoyt, inserter/delivery

Tom Brown, inserter/delivery

Local Offers
Sign Up to receive Breaking News
Featured businesses